Vanier CX - 2007

Results, recaps, and pictures below

This year’s exciting new circuit was created by Race Director Sven Sturm featuring tight corners, fast straightaways, triple barriers, off camber descents, and a biting sand pit that claimed quite a few victims.  There's some large galleries of excellent photos available here;

NEW! Click here for Kids' Cross photos by Derek Sakamoto
Click here for photos by Greg Descantes (proceeds from photo sales to Richard Juryn Trail Fund)
Click here for photos by Kevin Neufeld
Click here for photos by Ryan Morasiewicz
Click here for photos by Jason Metcalfe

Plus you may enjoy a gallery of other photos from Rod Dagneau and Kevin Cornils at this year's event by clicking on any of the thumbnails below for a larger view.  Full results further below.


This year’s event was made possible through the effort of many volunteers and a supporting cast of excellent sponsors.  Please click on any of the sponsor names below to visit their web sites for more information:

Active Life Physio, Ambleside Cycles, Deakin Outdoor, Giant Bicycles, Race Face, Ritchey, Running Room, Schwalbe Tires, Syncros, Tim Hortons, Uprising Breads, Kids' Cross presented by West Point Cycles,Venue provided by Vancouver Parks, Event sanctioned by Cycling BC

The 2 separate Kids ‘Cross events drew 28 pint-sized racers of the future. There were many smiles and a few tears, however all in all it was a great show of support for the sport of cycling from the younger generation.

Race recaps;

Anthony King was a powerhouse in the Men’s “C” event, carving out the win over Tyler Jordan, Jason Brooks, Dean Brant, and Dimitri Pavlakos.

In the Women's “B” disaster struck as Karen Todd had a seemingly insurmountable lead until misfortune in the form of an untimely flat took her out of the race. With Karen out of the running, Corrine Issel(Trek Red Truck) who was following in second held on to take the win over Shera Clement (Wedgewood), Heather Gerth, Stania Juriga, and Jeanine Ball.

The day’s largest start was the Men's “B” with a host of over 40 racers on the line.  A group of 5 established an early gap and could not be reeled in despite some hard work by the chasers.  Going into the final barriers there was some jostling for the lead out of the last corner. It came down to the final sprint with Nick Berry giving his all for the win. Nick was followed by Brad Collins, Chris Sayers, Roy McBeth, and Colin Campbell rounding out the top 5.

Jean Ann McKirdy took the victory in the Women’s “A”, staking out her win ahead of a strong field that included remaining podium finishers Sarah Stewart, Pan Am XC champ Catherine Pendrel, Kerry Van Kooy, and Melanie Vaughn.

In the Men’s “A” Rob Britton held a commanding lead for the entire race over teammate Tyler Trace, who was marked closely by Craig Richey. Going into the last corner Rob showed everyone the meaning of teamwork and sacrifice by conceding the victory to a hard charging Trace, and was also nipped at the line for 2nd place by a charging Richey.

Thanks to everyone who participated in a great day for the growing B.C. ‘cross scene.  Full results further below.


Men “C” / Open Beginner
1. Anthony King
2. Tyler Jordan
3. Jason Brooks
4. Dean Brant
5. Dimitri Pavlakos
6. Kalle Karu
7. Dave Chamberlain
8. Andrew Kerr
9. Bill Riley
10. Darren Grund
11. Scott Peters
12. Steven Herbert
13. Jon Taylor
14. Kevin MacDonald
15. Rob Kipps
16. Jeff Burton
17. Brian Wong
18. Andre Cerney
19. Craig Fabische
20. Alan Young
21. Stephane Delisle
22. George Greenwood
23. Tom Wojcik
24. Geoff Wherrett
DNF Vince Lee
DNF Alex Cogger

Women “B”
1. Corinne Issel
2. Shera Clement
3. Heather Gerth
4. Stania Juriga
5. Jeanine Ball
6. Linda Chow
7. Susan Weston
DNF Karen Todd

Men “B”
1. Nick Berry
2. Brad Collins
3. Chris Sayers
4. Roy McBeth
5. Colin Campbell
6. Brian Griffin
7. Trevor Hopkins
8. Patrick Beckstead
9. Dale Ewanchook
10. Graham Garrison
11. Matt Law
12. Mike Dhont
13. Matt Drown
14. Steve Devantier
15. Bart Nakano
16. Joel Lemaire
17. Jeff Hanninen
18. Jason Leber
19. Dave Cressman
20. Brad Slater
21. Nobuo Shoji
22. Ben Jackson
23. Graeme Martindale
24. Jak New
25. Mike Laxdal
26. Barry Lyster
27. Bryon Enns
28. Anselmo Rossiello
29. Ray Lachance
30. Kenny James
31. Axel Bergman
32. Ryan Newsome
33. Russ Stead
34. Chris McKillican
35. Meshkat David
36. Greg Devins
37. Jay Loder
38. Robbie Bitz
39. Dave Robertson
40. Cam Thorpe
41. Ryan Cousineau
42. Urs Blueler
Paul Craig (lapped)
Mark Butschler (lapped)
Dan Proulx (lapped)
Trevor Wilkinson (lapped)
J.P Baron (lapped)

Women “A”
1. Jean Ann McKirdy
2. Sarah Stewart
3. Catherine Pendrel
4. Kerry Van Kooy
5. Melanie Vaughan
6. Christy Love
7. Mary Claude Gagnon
8. Joele Guynup
9. Barb Zimich
10. Lesley Trivett
11. Karen Watson
12. Celine Dennis
13. Courtney Albert

Men “A”
1. Tyler Trace
2. Craig Richey
3. Rob Britton
4. Kevin Noiles
5. Thomas Skinner
6. Brandon Crichton
7. Jonathan Gormick
8. Rob Gosselin
9. Scott McGregor
10. Carsten Ivany
11. Pascal Wehr
12. Art Van Kooy
13. Sven Sturm
14. Jason Thompson
15. Jason Fluckiger
16. Will Pratt
17. Chris Reid
18. Ian Bickis
19. Wendell Challenger
20. Chris Hillier
21. John Perkins
22. Matt Green
Brent Hambleton (lapped)
Joe Wessel (lapped)
Mark Dormer (lapped)
DNF John Tolkamp
DNF  Dan Schmit
DNF  Russ Stead

Kids’ Cross Racers (in alphabetical order)
Angus Juhasz
Anik Landahl
Clara Huenemann
Cody Scott
Connor McBeth
Gabrielle Levy-Gay
Garrett Jacob Sayers
Hunter Juhasz
Isabel Bremner
Jonathan Horne
Joshua Griffin
Liliana Levy-Gay
Maggie Coles-Lyster
Nathan Gill
Nola Cressman
Quinn Storey
Sabine Fedder
Sam Scivier
Samuel O'Bee
Sarah Fedder
Scott Wilson
Theresa Riley
Tilda Cressman
Xavier Bitz
Zac Pollard
Zachary Felder


Sunday, October 14, 2007

Event Schedule:

  • 8:00am – Registration opens (sign on ends 30 minutes prior to each start)
  • 8:30am – Kids’ Cross, ages 11 to 15 (1 lap full course)
  • 9:00am – Men C / Women B, staggered start (30 minutes)
  • 10:00am – Men B / Women A*, staggered start (40 minutes)
  • 10:45am – Kids’ Cross, age 10 and under (mini-course, ~5minutes, parental assistance allowed)
  • 11:00pm - Men A* (60 minutes)
  • 12:30pm – Award / Podium presentations

* Mountain bikes allowed in all races except “A” races.  Only bikes in accordance with UCI regulations for cyclocross allowed for “A” races.

Open to any of the following:

  • Cycling BC or CCA licensed racers
  • U.S. Racers with UCI licenses
  • All kids age 15 and under (for free Kids' Cross)
  • Canadian Men and Women purchasing 1 day Cycling BC license ($30)

Entry fees and registration:


Venue Map (click on map below for large zoom view):

Location and Driving Directions (click on interactive map below):
View Larger Map



January 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Our Sponsors